Try & Buy From

Music Conducted By
Jerry Goldsmith

Orchestrations By
Arthur Morton

Recorded By

Performed By
The Victorian Philharmonic Orchestra of Melbourne

Album Produced By
Jerry Goldsmith


Previous Release(s)

Year Of CD/Film Release

Running Time
(15 Approx Score)

Normal Release

Cues & Timings

1. Ouisa and Flan* (1:53)
2. Six Degrees of Separation (Dialogue) (1:22)
3. Just One of those Things (Cole Porter) (1:06)
4. Sidney Poitier (Dialogue) (1:26)
5. Give Six (Paul Grabowsky) (2:32)
6. Painters (Dialogue) (0:30)
7. There Is a God* (1:30)
8. Cats (Dialogue) (0:51)
9. The Teacher* (1:36)
10. Dream about Painters (Dialogue) (1:09)
11. The Blade* (0:43)
12. Imagination (Dialogue) (1:55)
13. The Kiss* (0:55)
14. Dream Sequence (Dialogue) (0:44)
15. Safe Trip* (0:45)
16. Both Sides* (0:25)
17. Do we Have a Story to Tell You (Dialogue) (1:28)
18. No Heart* (1:05)
19. You're an Idiot (Dialogue) (0:44)
20. Not Family* (0:33)
21. The Truth (Dialogue) (0:29)
22. Quartet in G Minor, Opus 10 (Claude Debussy) (1:18)
23. Listen to Me (Dialogue) (2:04)
24. Unknown Track* (0:50)
-- mislabelled on packaging: all subsequent tracks out of sequence.
-- packaging claims the CD only has 25 tracks.
25. I Read Today (Dialogue) (2:21)
26. No Heart* (5:05)

* Score Cues

Soundtrack Ratings







Six Degrees Of Separation


One of the composer's most intriguing assignments since the 1960s. For the first time, Jerry Goldsmith was essentially writing a score for a play, albeit one that was made into a film for theatrical release. As a consequence Goldsmith's score is not only of a short duration but the length of the various cues are often very short too. Essentially the composer was required to provide musical introductions to each act sandwiched between a traditional main and end title.

Goldsmith's miniscule score is centred around his main theme, which is a slow, but attractive, tango depicting the snobbish and laid back attitudes of New York's upper classes. From here Goldsmith's expands his score no further than minimalist Jazz, highlighting piano, perhaps for Will Smith's clever con man. With the Melbourne orchestra resembling a string quartet at times, Goldsmith's music is polished, very clever and perfectly pitched for Schepisi's critically acclaimed adaptation.

As a soundtrack album, Six Degrees doesn't quite work though. Goldsmith himself wasn't keen that the score be released in this form, but Elektra went ahead any way and tried to make it more interesting by including both source music and dialogue excerpts. Sadly this hasn't helped, giving the album a more muddled feel. The best bet might have been to assemble the score into a suite, scheduling the rest of the material after it. However, for completists this album is no doubt a welcome inclusion in their Goldsmith collection regardless, but the nature of the score, no matter how good, and the album sequencing doesn't make this CD an easy one to pick up and play.